About Us



The Folk Dance Society Pääsuke (Swallow) consists of three mixed groups, three female groups and three childrens group located in Viimsi School. Our goal is to preserve the essence, basic movements and schemes of traditional dances.



1979 – the first female group was formed by teacher Jekaterina Lebedeva.

1985 – a new teacher Diana Otsing took over the group and led them for the following 17 years. In 1994 Pääsuke continued as a mixed group, but every once in a while some female dances were danced as well.

2003 – Katrin Krause took over the group and by that time Pääsuke had both female and mixed groups. In 2005 an additional female groupwas created and is now the younger womens group.

2009 – Rauno Zubko took over the mixed and female groups. Katrin continued with younger women.

2011 – Pääsuke had female group (two staff, second staff was established 2011), younger female group, younger mixed group and mixed group. At the same time Anli Soosaar started teaching a childrens group in Viimsi School, which by now has grown three children's groups.

2012 – Folk Dance Society Pääsuke officially chose Rauno Zubko to be the artistic director with a goal to expand the society even more.

2015 - a new mixed group of young people, named Rutiinipeletajad (Routine brakers).

Our dancers have performed in many foreign countries: Spain, Sweden, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Turkey, Portugal, Finland, Russia and Poland.